Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear)

Screenshot of the Thinkware product page (source). Not our photo.

Thinkware · Dash Cams

Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) review: 3.7/5 from the spec sheet

New release Announced Aug 18, 2026 — Thinkware ARC 800 First Look: 4K Front, AI Night Vision and an LTE Option for $329.99

4K front + 1080p rear dash cam with a Sony STARVIS 2 sensor, AI Night Vision in parking mode, 2.3-inch touchscreen, GPS and optional LTE. Launched August 2026.

Manufacturer list price $329.99 Manufacturer list price as of Oct 17, 2026; Amazon price not shown. Source

Fits: Universal windshield mount; hardwiring cable in the box for parking mode (OBD-II power cable sold separately); LTE module optional

View on AmazonASIN B0H5PX6S9J

3.7 /5 Overall score
average of 5 criteria
  • Spec strength4.0

    4K STARVIS 2 front, Dual HDR, GPS, ADAS and an LTE option in one unit, but the rear camera is 1080p where the VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH ($349.99) gives you 2K.

  • Build quality3.5

    Operating range tops out at 140°F (60°C) versus 149°F on the VIOFO A229 Pro and 158°F on the 70mai A900; Thinkware does not state whether the ARC 800 uses a supercapacitor.

  • Fit & compatibility4.5

    Hardwiring cable and a 32 GB card are in the box, so parking mode works on day one; the VIOFO A229 Pro and Vantrue N4 Pro make you buy the kit separately.

  • Warranty & support3.0

    1-year warranty, versus 18 months on the VIOFO A229 Pro (24 with registration) and up to 18 months on the Vantrue N4 Pro; Thinkware does have US-based support.

  • Value3.5

    $329.99 sits $20 under the 2K-rear VIOFO A229 Pro and more than double the 4K/1080p REDTIGER F7N ($139.99); you pay for AI Night Vision, ADAS and the LTE upgrade path.

Score is calculated from the manufacturer's published specifications. BaniCar has not handled this unit. Specs and availability change — verify on the listing.

Verdict

A sensible pick if you want Thinkware's parking-mode ecosystem, safety-camera alerts and the option to add LTE later, with the hardwire cable already in the box. Skip it if a 2K rear camera or a longer warranty matters more than brand features, because the VIOFO A229 Pro gives you both for $20 more.

Pros & cons

Pros

  • 4K front with Sony STARVIS 2 IMX678 and Dual HDR on both channels
  • Hardwiring cable and 32 GB microSD included
  • Built-in GPS, ADAS and safety-camera alerts without a subscription
  • Optional LTE module unlocks remote live view and impact alerts

Cons

  • Rear camera is 1080p, not 2K like the VIOFO A229 Pro at a similar price
  • 140°F (60°C) operating ceiling is lower than most supercapacitor rivals
  • 1-year warranty is short for a $330 camera
  • LTE features need a $149.99 module plus a service plan

Best for

  • Drivers who want Thinkware CONNECTED remote alerts without buying the $500+ U3000 Pro
  • Street parkers who want parking mode working out of the box

Specifications (as published by Thinkware)

Front resolution4K UHD 3840×2160 @ 30 fps, or 2K QHD 2560×1440 @ 60 fps
Rear resolution1080p Full HD 1920×1080 @ 30 fps
SensorsSony STARVIS 2 IMX678 (8.4 MP, 1/1.8-inch) front; 2 MP CMOS (1/2.8-inch) rear
HdrDual HDR (front and rear)
Field of view146° front / 125° rear (diagonal)
Screen2.3-inch IPS LCD touchscreen
Parking modeEnergy Saving (impact-triggered), Time-lapse (2 fps), Motion & Impact Detection (20 s clips, 10 s before/after); AI Night Vision active in parking mode; hardwiring cable included, OBD-II cable optional
GPSBuilt-in, with speed and location logging and safety-camera alerts
AdasLane departure, forward collision and related alerts
WifiBuilt-in 5 GHz Wi-Fi
ConnectedThinkware CONNECTED features require the optional LTE Module ($149.99) and a service plan
Max storage512 GB microSD (32 GB card pre-installed)
PowerPower source type not stated on the store page (supercapacitor vs battery not published)
Operating temperature14°F to 140°F (-10°C to 60°C)
Warranty1 year (official store)

Key specs: 4K + 1080p · STARVIS 2 front · 146°/125° FOV · AI Night Vision · Hardwire cable + 32 GB included · 1-yr warranty

Frequently asked questions

Does the ARC 800 need a hardwire kit for parking mode?

Yes, but the hardwiring cable is included in the box. Thinkware recommends professional installation; an OBD-II power cable is an optional alternative.

What does the LTE module add?

With the optional $149.99 LTE Module and an active plan, Thinkware CONNECTED gives you remote live view, impact notifications, vehicle location and geofencing. Without it the camera still records, logs GPS and connects to your phone over 5 GHz Wi-Fi.

How does it differ from the ARC 900 and U3000?

On the spec sheet the ARC 800 keeps the 4K STARVIS 2 front camera but drops to a 1080p rear and has no radar module option. The U3000 adds a 2K rear and radar parking at $549.99.

Compare with

Product video

“THINKWARE ARC800 Dash Cam | 4K STARVIS 2 with AI Night Vision | See Beyond The Darkness” — THINKWARE Dash Cam™ on YouTube (official channel). Embedded, not hosted by us; the video is the manufacturer's marketing, not our test.

View on Amazon

Opens Amazon.com in a new tab. Amazon price and availability are not shown here.

Sources

  1. Thinkware ARC 800 Front & Rear product page (specs, price, box contents) (accessed Oct 17, 2026)
  2. Press release: THINKWARE Launches ARC 800 (EIN Presswire via National Law Review, dateline August 18, 2026) (accessed Aug 18, 2026)
  3. Press release copy on PR.com (dated August 30, 2026) (accessed Aug 30, 2026)
  4. Thinkware Fall Savings press release (MSRP $329.99) (accessed Oct 7, 2026)
  5. Amazon listing (ASIN only) (accessed Oct 17, 2026)
  6. Thinkware product page

Evidence type: published specs (no hands-on). Last updated Oct 17, 2026.