Head-to-head · Dash Cams

Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) vs Thinkware U3000 (Front & Rear)

Both products side by side: five criteria scores, manufacturer list price and published specs. The conclusion below is generated from the scores — no opinions added.

THINKWAREThinkware ARC 800(Front & Rear)Dash Cams3.7OUT OF 5BaniCarThinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) · 3.7/5 vs THINKWAREThinkware U3000(Front & Rear)Dash Cams3.6OUT OF 5BaniCarThinkware U3000 (Front & Rear) · 3.6/5

What the scores say

On overall score, Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) ranks higher: 3.7 vs 3.6.

CriterionThinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear)Thinkware U3000 (Front & Rear)
Scores
Overall3.7/53.6/5
Spec strength4.0
4K STARVIS 2 front, Dual HDR, GPS, ADAS and an LTE option in one unit, but the rear camera is 1080p where the VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH ($349.99) gives you 2K.
5.0
Only unit here with built-in radar parking, 2K@60fps option, ADAS and cloud alerts on top of 4K + 2K recording.
Build quality3.5
Operating range tops out at 140°F (60°C) versus 149°F on the VIOFO A229 Pro and 158°F on the 70mai A900; Thinkware does not state whether the ARC 800 uses a supercapacitor.
4.0
Supercapacitor and an Ambarella CPU, but Thinkware's store page does not publish an operating temperature range the way VIOFO (149°F / 65°C) does.
Fit & compatibility4.5
Hardwiring cable and a 32 GB card are in the box, so parking mode works on day one; the VIOFO A229 Pro and Vantrue N4 Pro make you buy the kit separately.
3.5
Radar parking requires the OBD-II or hardwiring cable (included in this bundle); 256 GB card cap is half the VIOFO's 512 GB.
Warranty & support3.0
1-year warranty, versus 18 months on the VIOFO A229 Pro (24 with registration) and up to 18 months on the Vantrue N4 Pro; Thinkware does have US-based support.
2.5
12 months on a $550 camera, vs 18–24 months on the $349.99 VIOFO A229 Pro.
Value3.5
$329.99 sits $20 under the 2K-rear VIOFO A229 Pro and more than double the 4K/1080p REDTIGER F7N ($139.99); you pay for AI Night Vision, ADAS and the LTE upgrade path.
3.0
$549.99 is about $200 more than the VIOFO A229 Pro for the same 4K + 2K resolution; you are paying for radar, ADAS and cloud.
Manufacturer list price
MSRP$329.99
as of Oct 17, 2026
$549.99
as of Oct 16, 2026
Published specs
Front resolution4K UHD 3840×2160 @ 30 fps, or 2K QHD 2560×1440 @ 60 fps4K UHD 3840×2160 @ 30 fps, or 2K QHD 2560×1440 @ 60 fps
Rear resolution1080p Full HD 1920×1080 @ 30 fps2K QHD
Field of view146° front / 125° rear (diagonal)152° front / 128° rear (diagonal)
Parking modeEnergy Saving (impact-triggered), Time-lapse (2 fps), Motion & Impact Detection (20 s clips, 10 s before/after); AI Night Vision active in parking mode; hardwiring cable included, OBD-II cable optionalRadar Parking Mode: front and rear radar wake the camera to record a 20 s clip; requires hardwiring or the OBD-II cable
GPSBuilt-in, with speed and location logging and safety-camera alertsBuilt-in, with red-light and speed-camera alerts
AdasLane departure, forward collision and related alertsLane departure, forward collision, front vehicle departure warnings
WifiBuilt-in 5 GHz Wi-FiDual-band 2.4 / 5 GHz; Thinkware Connected app features need a hotspot or Wi-Fi
Max storage512 GB microSD (32 GB card pre-installed)256 GB microSD (64 GB card included)
PowerPower source type not stated on the store page (supercapacitor vs battery not published)Supercapacitor
Operating temperature14°F to 140°F (-10°C to 60°C)Not published on the store page
Warranty1 year (official store)1 year
SensorsSony STARVIS 2 IMX678 (8.4 MP, 1/1.8-inch) front; 2 MP CMOS (1/2.8-inch) rearNot published
HdrDual HDR (front and rear)Not published
Screen2.3-inch IPS LCD touchscreenNot published
ConnectedThinkware CONNECTED features require the optional LTE Module ($149.99) and a service planNot published
SensorNot published8.4 MP Sony STARVIS 2 with Ambarella CPU
Best for
Best forDrivers who want Thinkware CONNECTED remote alerts without buying the $500+ U3000 Pro; Street parkers who want parking mode working out of the boxStreet parkers who want 24/7 radar surveillance without a battery pack; Luxury and EV owners who want ADAS and cloud alerts

Scores are calculated from the manufacturers' published specifications. BaniCar has not handled either unit. Specs and availability change — verify on the listing.

Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) on Amazon Thinkware U3000 (Front & Rear) on Amazon

Full reviews: Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) · Thinkware U3000 (Front & Rear). Updated Oct 17, 2026.