Head-to-head · Dash Cams
Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) vs VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH
Both products side by side: five criteria scores, manufacturer list price and published specs. The conclusion below is generated from the scores — no opinions added.
What the scores say
On overall score, VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH ranks higher: 4.4 vs 3.7.
- Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) leads on fit & compatibility (4.5 vs 4.0).
- VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH leads on spec strength (4.5 vs 4.0), build quality (4.5 vs 3.5), warranty & support (4.5 vs 3.0), value (4.5 vs 3.5).
- Lower manufacturer list price: Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) ($329.99 vs $349.99, a $20.00 gap).
| Criterion | Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) | VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH |
|---|---|---|
| Scores | ||
| Overall | 3.7/5 | 4.4/5 |
| Spec strength | 4.0 4K STARVIS 2 front, Dual HDR, GPS, ADAS and an LTE option in one unit, but the rear camera is 1080p where the VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH ($349.99) gives you 2K. | 4.5 4K front + 2K HDR rear on dual STARVIS 2; the Vantrue N4 Pro and Redtiger F7N only give you 1080p in the rear. |
| Build quality | 3.5 Operating range tops out at 140°F (60°C) versus 149°F on the VIOFO A229 Pro and 158°F on the 70mai A900; Thinkware does not state whether the ARC 800 uses a supercapacitor. | 4.5 Supercapacitor rated to 149°F (65°C) vs 113°F (45°C) on the Garmin Mini 3; no IP rating on the standard rear camera (the Pro-W variant adds a waterproof rear). |
| Fit & compatibility | 4.5 Hardwiring cable and a 32 GB card are in the box, so parking mode works on day one; the VIOFO A229 Pro and Vantrue N4 Pro make you buy the kit separately. | 4.0 Universal 12 V plug, but parking mode needs the separate HK4 hardwire kit; Redtiger bundles its kit for free. |
| Warranty & support | 3.0 1-year warranty, versus 18 months on the VIOFO A229 Pro (24 with registration) and up to 18 months on the Vantrue N4 Pro; Thinkware does have US-based support. | 4.5 18 months standard, 24 with registration, vs 12 months on the Thinkware U3000 and Garmin Mini 3. |
| Value | 3.5 $329.99 sits $20 under the 2K-rear VIOFO A229 Pro and more than double the 4K/1080p REDTIGER F7N ($139.99); you pay for AI Night Vision, ADAS and the LTE upgrade path. | 4.5 At $349.99 it matches the 3-channel Vantrue N4 Pro and undercuts the Thinkware U3000 2CH ($519.99+) while matching its 4K/2K resolution. |
| Manufacturer list price | ||
| MSRP | $329.99 as of Oct 17, 2026 | $349.99 as of Oct 16, 2026 |
| Published specs | ||
| Front resolution | 4K UHD 3840×2160 @ 30 fps, or 2K QHD 2560×1440 @ 60 fps | 4K 2160p @ 30 fps, HDR |
| Rear resolution | 1080p Full HD 1920×1080 @ 30 fps | 2K 1440p @ 30 fps, HDR |
| Sensors | Sony STARVIS 2 IMX678 (8.4 MP, 1/1.8-inch) front; 2 MP CMOS (1/2.8-inch) rear | Sony STARVIS 2 IMX678 (8 MP) front / IMX675 (5 MP) rear |
| Field of view | 146° front / 125° rear (diagonal) | 140° front / 160° rear |
| Screen | 2.3-inch IPS LCD touchscreen | 2.4-inch |
| Parking mode | Energy Saving (impact-triggered), Time-lapse (2 fps), Motion & Impact Detection (20 s clips, 10 s before/after); AI Night Vision active in parking mode; hardwiring cable included, OBD-II cable optional | Yes: time-lapse, low-bitrate, and auto event detection (15 s pre / 30 s post); HK4 hardwire kit sold separately |
| GPS | Built-in, with speed and location logging and safety-camera alerts | Built-in quad-mode (GPS, BeiDou, Galileo, GLONASS) |
| Wifi | Built-in 5 GHz Wi-Fi | Dual-band 5 GHz + 2.4 GHz; optional Bluetooth remote |
| Max storage | 512 GB microSD (32 GB card pre-installed) | 512 GB microSD (card not included) |
| Power | Power source type not stated on the store page (supercapacitor vs battery not published) | Supercapacitor (no battery) |
| Operating temperature | 14°F to 140°F (-10°C to 60°C) | -4°F to 149°F (-20°C to 65°C) |
| Warranty | 1 year (official store) | 18 months; extends to 24 months with product registration |
| Hdr | Dual HDR (front and rear) | Not published |
| Adas | Lane departure, forward collision and related alerts | Not published |
| Connected | Thinkware CONNECTED features require the optional LTE Module ($149.99) and a service plan | Not published |
| Aperture | Not published | F1.8 front / F1.9 rear |
| Best for | ||
| Best for | Drivers who want Thinkware CONNECTED remote alerts without buying the $500+ U3000 Pro; Street parkers who want parking mode working out of the box | Daily commuters who want the best 2-channel image quality under $400; Street parkers willing to hardwire for buffered parking mode |
Scores are calculated from the manufacturers' published specifications. BaniCar has not handled either unit. Specs and availability change — verify on the listing.
Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) on Amazon VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH on Amazon
Full reviews: Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) · VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH. Updated Oct 17, 2026.