Head-to-head · Dash Cams
70mai A900 (Dual 4K) vs VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH
Both products side by side: five criteria scores, manufacturer list price and published specs. The conclusion below is generated from the scores — no opinions added.
What the scores say
On overall score, VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH ranks higher: 4.4 vs 4.0.
- VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH leads on build quality (4.5 vs 4.0), warranty & support (4.5 vs 3.0).
- Tied on spec strength, fit & compatibility, value.
- Lower manufacturer list price: 70mai A900 (Dual 4K) ($199.99 vs $349.99, a $150.00 gap).
| Criterion | 70mai A900 (Dual 4K) | VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH |
|---|---|---|
| Scores | ||
| Overall | 4.0/5 | 4.4/5 |
| Spec strength | 4.5 4K on both channels at 30 fps with HDR and 140° each; the VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH gives 2K in the rear and the REDTIGER F7N 1080p. Loses half a point because 70mai does not name the sensor. | 4.5 4K front + 2K HDR rear on dual STARVIS 2; the Vantrue N4 Pro and Redtiger F7N only give you 1080p in the rear. |
| Build quality | 4.0 Supercapacitor rated to 158°F (70°C), above the 149°F VIOFO A229 Pro and 140°F Thinkware ARC 800; no IP rating published for the rear camera. | 4.5 Supercapacitor rated to 149°F (65°C) vs 113°F (45°C) on the Garmin Mini 3; no IP rating on the standard rear camera (the Pro-W variant adds a waterproof rear). |
| Fit & compatibility | 4.0 Universal mount and a 64 GB card in the Amazon kit, but the hardwire kit for parking mode is extra; the REDTIGER F7N bundles its kit. | 4.0 Universal 12 V plug, but parking mode needs the separate HK4 hardwire kit; Redtiger bundles its kit for free. |
| Warranty & support | 3.0 70mai does not state a warranty term on the A900 product page; VIOFO publishes 18–24 months and Vantrue up to 18. | 4.5 18 months standard, 24 with registration, vs 12 months on the Thinkware U3000 and Garmin Mini 3. |
| Value | 4.5 $199.99 list for 4K + 4K undercuts the 4K + 2K VIOFO A229 Pro ($349.99) and the 4K + 1080p Thinkware ARC 800 ($329.99); only the REDTIGER F7N ($139.99) is cheaper, with a 1080p rear. | 4.5 At $349.99 it matches the 3-channel Vantrue N4 Pro and undercuts the Thinkware U3000 2CH ($519.99+) while matching its 4K/2K resolution. |
| Manufacturer list price | ||
| MSRP | $199.99 as of Oct 17, 2026 | $349.99 as of Oct 16, 2026 |
| Published specs | ||
| Front resolution | 4K 3840×2160 @ 30 fps, HDR | 4K 2160p @ 30 fps, HDR |
| Rear resolution | 4K 3840×2160 @ 30 fps, HDR | 2K 1440p @ 30 fps, HDR |
| Sensors | Not named on 70mai's spec page (GizChina reports dual GC8613 sensors; the A900 Ultra uses Sony IMX678) | Sony STARVIS 2 IMX678 (8 MP) front / IMX675 (5 MP) rear |
| Aperture | f/1.55 front | F1.8 front / F1.9 rear |
| Field of view | 140° front / 140° rear | 140° front / 160° rear |
| Screen | 3.18-inch | 2.4-inch |
| Parking mode | 24 h parking surveillance: collision detection and 1 fps time-lapse; 70mai Hardwire Kit required, sold separately | Yes: time-lapse, low-bitrate, and auto event detection (15 s pre / 30 s post); HK4 hardwire kit sold separately |
| GPS | Built-in 5-system GPS; ADAS alerts | Built-in quad-mode (GPS, BeiDou, Galileo, GLONASS) |
| Wifi | Wi-Fi 6, 2.4 GHz + 5 GHz, up to 25 MB/s export (70mai lab figure) | Dual-band 5 GHz + 2.4 GHz; optional Bluetooth remote |
| Max storage | 32–512 GB microSD (Amazon listing ships with a 64 GB card) | 512 GB microSD (card not included) |
| Power | Supercapacitor, rated 500,000 cycles (70mai lab figure) | Supercapacitor (no battery) |
| Operating temperature | -4°F to 158°F (-20°C to 70°C) | -4°F to 149°F (-20°C to 65°C) |
| Warranty | Not stated on the product page | 18 months; extends to 24 months with product registration |
| Emergency recording | Buffered: up to 190 s before and 30 s after an impact, depending on loop length | Not published |
| Connected | 4G Cloud+ 2.0 compatible: hardware support at launch, full features via a later OTA update; needs the 4G hardwire kit | Not published |
| Dimensions | 91 × 46 × 24.9 mm | Not published |
| Best for | ||
| Best for | Budget buyers who want rear footage as sharp as the front; Rideshare and delivery drivers who want a 4G remote-view option later | Daily commuters who want the best 2-channel image quality under $400; Street parkers willing to hardwire for buffered parking mode |
Scores are calculated from the manufacturers' published specifications. BaniCar has not handled either unit. Specs and availability change — verify on the listing.
70mai A900 (Dual 4K) on Amazon VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH on Amazon
Full reviews: 70mai A900 (Dual 4K) · VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH. Updated Oct 17, 2026.